Branch Events

North Eastern Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Report 2016/2017


Cork Branch

AGM 2016: Officers elected were Rena Hennessy (Chair), Tomás MacCarthaigh (Secretary), Mary Hurley.(Treasurer).  Branch meetings are held in Bru Columbanus, Cardinal Way, Wilton.  Monthly coffee mornings are held in Hayfield Manor. 

Branch Email:

Branch Meeting Monday February 12th: Venue: Brú Columbanus, Wilton at 2.30 pm. The meeting will discuss the forthcoming RSTA Annual Conference to be held in Cork in May.  Suggestions for motions for National Conference wil be received for consideration from those present at the meeting.

Branch Outing to Cobh Heritage Centre on February 22nd.  More details here.

Theatre Night: Tuesday 6th March in the Everyman Theatre at 8 pm. The show is called Mary and Me written and produced by Cork actor Irene Kellegher. Book your ticket directly and let us know and we can arrange to meet in the foyer or for pre-show drinks.

Last call for enrolling in the Book Club: Details here.

Calendar of Branch Events 2017/2018

Photos from Cork Branch: :

Waterford Branch

AGM 2016  - Officers elected: John Cunningham (Chairman), Angela McCarthy (Secretary), Paula Hewison (Treasurer).

Branch Email: 

February 2018 RemindersRSTAw_February_Reminders.pdf

Proposed Autumn Tour Reminder: Please get booking forms in by this weekend - Sunday 18th February

Clarification re supplementary Charges: Single room €32 per night, sea view €7.50 per person per night (normal rate is €24  Strictly on first come, first served basis subject to availability.

Click on the link to download tour details and booking form:  RSTAW_2018_TOUR.pdf    RSTAW_Autumn_Tour_Itinerary.pdf


Tuesday Walks at 11.00 beyond Kingfisher, Badminton on Wednesdays in the Butler Community Centre, Poetry Hour on the Second Thursday in WTC and Caife agus Caint on the Third Monday in the WTC.

Winter Season Calendar of Events: Winter_Season_Update.pdf

Poetry Hour: Resumes on second Thursday of the month beginning Thursday, January 9th, 2018 in Waterford Teachers' Centre. Tea/coffee from 10.30 am. Reading at 11.00 am.

Dunhill Lectures 2018: For members who may be interested in this history lecture series full details are available at the following link: Dunhill_lectures_2018.pdf

Waterford Sports Patrnership - Opportunities for people aged 55 and over in 2018: Activities_January_2018.pdf

Clare Branch

AGM 2016: Officers elected were Helen Meade (Chair), Mary Carroll (Secretary), Kathleen Pyne (Treasurer).

Branch Email:   Members are notified of meetings/events by text.

Dublin Branch

Branch Meetings: Regular branch meetings are held on first Wednesday of each month at 11 am in the Teachers' Club, Parnell Square. Exceptions: January: meeting on the second Wednesday.  May: no monthly meeting due to attendance at the Annual National Conference. July and August: no regular monthly meeting but activities organised by the Summer Activities Committee. December: No regular monthly meeting due to our annual Christmas Lunch which is held on first Wednesday in December.

Branch Officers for 2017 - 2018: Mary Kenny (Chairperson), Catherine McHugh (Treasurer), Susie Hall (Secretary).

Branch Email:

Next Meeting:  Wednesday 7th February at 11 am in the Teachers' Centre, Parnelll Square.  The speaker will be Ms Maoliosa Kelly from ALONE who will talk on their befriending service.  We look forward to seeing as many as possible.

Report of Dublin Branch Activities 2016/17: Branch_Report_201617.pdf

Tipperary Branch

Branch Email:

Mayo Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Officers Elected for 2017/18: Carmel Heneghan (Chair), Kevin McMahon (Secretary), Antoinette Casey (Treasurer), Esther McHale (Asst Secretary).

Branch Events

Sean Nós Dancing classes in Tennis Club Castlebar at 1pm each Monday. Some of our members have already joined and would like to pass on the word.  Beginners welcome.  A great way to get fit for 2018!

Films for Seniors: Members are also enjoying the special screeings on Thursday mornings at 11.30 am in Mayo Movie World Cinema Castlebar.  No advertising, lower volume, free tea/coffee and snack bar all for €5. See local papers for  programme. Next Show on Thursday 8th Feb is The Commuter starring Liam Neeson.

Mayo_Calendar_2017.pdf   Mayo branch welcomes members from other branches to join us for our events/activities.

Report of trip to WW1 battlefields in September 2017.     Some photos of the trip can be viewed at the following link.  More to follow later:

Branch Events planned for 2018:  Overnight trip to Derry in February and day trip to the Burren in April/May.  Both outings subject to demand. Details will be circulated closer to the events.

Wickow Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Officers:  Deirdre Larkin (Chair), Eamonn Madigan (Secretary).

Wexford Branch

Branch Officers: Ger Moynihan (Chairperson), Micheál O'Neill (Secretary).

Branch Email:

Forthcoming Events in Wexford Branch

Summary of Branch Activities 2016/17 Wexford_Branch_Activities_Report.pdf

Sligo Branch

Branch Email:

AGM 2016: Officers elected: Eamon Gaughan (Chair), Brid Armstrong (Secretary), Alice Lindsey (Treasurer).

Branch report 2016/2017: Sligo_Report_2017.pdf

Click on the link to view some Branch photographs:

Kilkenny Branch

Branch Email:

Thursday February 15th 2018 at 11am: Meeting in Altamount Gardens Carlow to celebrate snowdrop week.  Informal walk and coffee.

Proposed Trip to Northern Ireland March 2018.  Rates etc are subject to numbers travelling so please contact the branch as soon as possible if you are interested.  Click here for details and itinerary.

Branch report 2016/17: Branch_Events_2016-2017.pdf

Kildare Branch

Branch Officers:  Margaret Hayes (Chairperson), Patricia O'Callaghan (Secretary).

Branch Email:

Midland Branch

Branch Email Contact:

Branch AGM November 2017: Officers elected: Chair: Rosemary Kiernan, Secretary: John Moloney, Treasurer: Gretta Keegan. PRO: Margaret Larkin.

Congratulations! Padraig O'Doherty, member of Midland Branch, was elected Vice President of RSTA National Committee at the recent AGM in Sligo.  The Branch extends its thanks and appreciation to Midland member Mike Moriarty for his hard work, dedication and service to RSTA in recent years.

Report on Branch visit to the Carravaggio exhibition

Athlone Branch

Branch email:

Galway Branch

Branch Email Contact:

February 13th 2018: Talk by Gerard Scully of Age Action at 2 pm in Menlo Park Hotel.  This is the follow-up to the previous Informaiton Session.  Tea and scones afterwards. Please contact the secretary at the above email by Wednesday 7th

Report on 2017 Branch activities: Report

Donegal Branch

Branch Email contact:

Limerick Branch

Branch Email:

Kerry Branch

Branch Email: