Branches (3)

Friday, 08 March 2013 09:50


Written by

IMPORTANT: The information below is provided for the purpose of facilitating RSTA members in contacting RSTA Branch Officers in relation to RSTA business.  It must not be used for any other purpose.







Susan Eades


Mary Carroll


Nuala Buckley


Gerard Logue


Susie Hall


Sheila Conneely


Bláithín Ní Bhric


Claire Power


Joan Ryan Murphy


Caitríona Ní Mhurchadha


Madeline Cunnane


Martina Kelly

North East

Mary Cunningham


P J Leddy


Elizabeth Hayes 


Angela McCarthy


John Dunbar


Eamonn Madigan


National Committee Contacts:

RSTA National Secretary, Susie Hall: General enquiries and items for Newsletter.

RSTA National Treasurer: Queries re  membership, subscriptions, membership applications.

Branch Notices for Website:

Tuesday, 04 December 2012 11:38

Contact RSTA

Written by

To send an email to any RSTA officer:

Key  in your full name, your email addess and your message below. Click once in the "robot" tick box.  Click "Submit" box.

NoteYou do not need to enter the RSTA email address. Your message will be automatically routed to the appropriate RSTA officer and you will receive an acknowlegement that your message has been sent.


  1. Full Name(*)
    Please type your full name.
  2. E-mail(*)
    Invalid email address.
  3. Your Message(*)
    Please enter your message
  4. Anti-spam
    Invalid Input

North Eastern Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Report 2016/2017


Cork Branch

AGM 2016: Officers elected were Rena Hennessy (Chair), Tomás MacCarthaigh (Secretary), Mary Hurley.(Treasurer).  Branch meetings are held in Bru Columbanus, Cardinal Way, Wilton.  Monthly coffee mornings are held in Hayfield Manor. 

Branch Email:

Daffodil Day Appeal to Cork members:  Volunteers welcomed again this year for the annual Daffodil Day collection on Friday 23 March. Contact the Irish Cancer Society at their Cork office on 021 4840597.  Click on the link for more details: Daffodil_day_appeal.pdf

Report on Branch Outing to Cobh Heritage CentreCobh_Outing.pdf

Calendar of Branch Events 2017/2018

Photos from Cork Branch: :

Waterford Branch

AGM 2016  - Officers elected: John Cunningham (Chairman), Angela McCarthy (Secretary), Paula Hewison (Treasurer).

Branch Email: 

March 2018 Activities: RSTAw_March_2018.pdf

Reminder - Thursday 22 March: Talk by Caroline Crotty (Phsycotherapy & wellbeing Consultancy) at 11 am in Waterford Teachers' Centre.  click on the link for full details Talk_by_Caroline_Crotty.pdf

Winter Season Calendar of Events: Winter_Season_Update.pdf

Clare Branch

AGM 2016: Officers elected were Helen Meade (Chair), Mary Carroll (Secretary), Kathleen Pyne (Treasurer).

Branch Email:   Members are notified of meetings/events by text.

Dublin Branch

Branch Meetings: Regular branch meetings are held on first Wednesday of each month at 11 am in the Teachers' Club, Parnell Square. Exceptions: January: meeting on the second Wednesday.  May: no monthly meeting due to attendance at the Annual National Conference. July and August: no regular monthly meeting but activities organised by the Summer Activities Committee. December: No regular monthly meeting due to our annual Christmas Lunch which is held on first Wednesday in December.

Branch Officers for 2017 - 2018: Mary Kenny (Chairperson), Catherine McHugh (Treasurer), Susie Hall (Secretary).

Branch Email:

Branch Meeting Wednesday April 4th: The speaker will be James Lawless, former teacher, who has written many books and will read from some of them.

Visit to Transport Museum, Tuesday 17th April: Organised by the RMA NASUWT. Travelling by train from Connolly Station at 9.30 am.  On arrival in Belfast we take the train to Bangor as far as Cultra where we will be taken to the Transport Museum.  Cost £20 sterling which includes light lunch to be paid to Catherine McHugh at the 4th April meeting.  If you are interested in going please contact Nuala O'Connor at 01 2980819.

Summer Lunch Wednesday 6th June: Wynn's Hotel, Abbey Street at 1 pm sharp. It will follow the monthly meeting on the same day.  Cost €30.  Please pay Catherine McHugh in advance at the April meeting.  Deadline for booking and payment is Thursday 31st May. Contact Catherine at 01 8305646 or 087 9019543.

Report of Dublin Branch Activities 2016/17: Branch_Report_201617.pdf

Tipperary Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Officers 2017/18: Mattie Finnerty (Chairperson), Elizabeth Hayes (Secretary), Dick Lowney (Treasurer).

Mayo Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Officers Elected for 2017/18: Carmel Heneghan (Chair), Kevin McMahon (Secretary), Antoinette Casey (Treasurer), Esther McHale (Asst Secretary).

Next Branch Meeting: Thursday 15 March at 2 pm in Mayo Education Centre. A speaker from the Citizens Advice Centre, Castlebar will give a short presentation on their services for older people.

Sean Nós Dancing classes in Tennis Club Castlebar at 1pm each Monday. Some of our members have already joined and would like to pass on the word.  Beginners welcome.  A great way to get fit for 2018!

Films for Seniors: Members are also enjoying the special screeings on Thursday mornings at 11.30 am in Mayo Movie World Cinema Castlebar.  No advertising, lower volume, free tea/coffee and snack bar all for €5. See local papers for  programme.

Report of trip to WW1 battlefields in September 2017.     Some photos of the trip can be viewed at the following link.  More to follow later:

Branch Events planned for 2018:  Overnight trip to Derry and day trip to the Burren.  Both outings subject to demand. Details will be circulated closer to the events.

Wickow Branch

Branch Email:

Branch Officers:  Deirdre Larkin (Chair), Eamonn Madigan (Secretary).

Wexford Branch

Branch Officers: Ger Moynihan (Chairperson), Micheál O'Neill (Secretary).

Branch Email:

Forthcoming Events in Wexford Branch

Summary of Branch Activities 2016/17 Wexford_Branch_Activities_Report.pdf

Sligo Branch

Branch Email:

AGM 2016: Officers elected: Eamon Gaughan (Chair), Brid Armstrong (Secretary), Alice Lindsey (Treasurer).

Branch report 2016/2017: Sligo_Report_2017.pdf

Click on the link to view some Branch photographs:

Kilkenny Branch

Branch Email:

Proposed Trip to Northern Ireland March 2018.  Rates etc are subject to numbers travelling so please contact the branch as soon as possible if you are interested.  Click here for details and itinerary.

Branch report 2016/17: Branch_Events_2016-2017.pdf

Kildare Branch

Branch Officers:  Margaret Hayes (Chairperson), Patricia O'Callaghan (Secretary).

Branch Email:

Midland Branch

Branch Email Contact:   

Branch AGM November 2017: Officers elected: Chair: Rosemary Kiernan, Secretary: John Moloney, Treasurer: Gretta Keegan. PRO: Margaret Larkin.

Congratulations! Padraig O'Doherty, member of Midland Branch, was elected Vice President of RSTA National Committee at the recent AGM in Sligo.  The Branch extends its thanks and appreciation to Midland member Mike Moriarty for his hard work, dedication and service to RSTA in recent years.

Report on Branch visit to the Carravaggio exhibition

Galway Branch

Branch Email Contact:

Wednesday 28th March: Professor Hubert McDermott of the English Dept. at NUIG will deliver his lecture on "Joyce's The Dead, the Galway Connection" at 2.30 pm in the Menlo Park Hotel, Galway. Please contact the Branch Secretary as soon as possible if you plan to attend.

Report on 2017 Branch activities: Report

Athlone Branch

Branch Email:

Donegal Branch

Branch Email contact:

Limerick Branch

Branch Email:

Kerry Branch

Branch email: