News (73)

South Africa Trip September 2023 - Midland RSTA - Now Booking

Rosemary Kiernan writes:

Midland  RSTA are  now booking the trip of a lifetime through the Travel Department to South Africa departing September 20th 2023.

Details from Rosemary Kiernan or text: 087 7589287. Details also available from the Travel Department.




The Department of Education has issued a circular and has sent notices to retired teachers regarding changes in the arrangements for employment as a substitute while receiving a teacher's pension:

Read, download and/or print the information on working as a substitute at the link below.



Relevant Department Circular: 

(Circular 24 2022 Guidance on the application of Abatement of Public Service Occupational Pensions)



Keep up to date on all the latest RSTA news and events in our branches around the country.

To access our Facebook page log in to Facebook and search for "RSTA Teachers".

To access our Twitter page at:  @RSTA Ireland





Report by Ger O'Donoghue and Denis O'Boyle, RSTA members and  ASTI Representatives on the ICTU Retired Workers Committee.  February 2023.

Once the Trade Unions had formally ratified acceptance of the new publc sector pay deal known as Building Momentum, the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU), Public Service Committee met and formally notified the Government and the Workplace Relations Commission that the deal had been accepted.  All of the affiliated unions had voted in favour of the proposals to extend the current Building Momentum public service pay agreement to the end of 2023.

On 7th October 2022 the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform press release included the following:

  • Over 370,000 fulltime equivalent public servants to benefit from pay increases including back dating of 3% award to   February 2022
  • Pay parity for the majority of retired public servants retained for the duration of the Agreement

Read the full report here: Building_Momentum_Article_for_RSTA_2023.pdf





The Conference Meeting took place on Wednesday 4th May.  59 delegates attended the Meeting which was followed by the Centenary Dinner that evening attended by 80 members and friends.

Elections at Annual Conference 2022

Nat Comm 2022Officers

President: Ms Susie Hall (Dublin Branch), Vice President: Ms Muriel McNcholas (Mayo Branch)

National Secretary: Mr Micheal O'Neill (Wexford Branch), Treasurer: Mr Pat Younger (Wexford Branch)

National Committee

Mr Henry Collins (Waterford Branch), Ms Lily Cronin (Kerry Branch), Mr Mike Moriarty (Athlone Branch), Ms Norma Fitzpatrick (Cork Branch), Mr Mattie Finnerty (Tipperary Branch), Ms Carmel Heneghan (Mayo Branch), Ms Mary Francis O'Conghaile (Galway Branch)

Absent from picture: Mike Moriarty (Midland Branch) and Muriel McNcholas

(Ms Catherine McHugh was co-opted to the National Committee following the resignation of Ms Lily Cronin.)

Presentation to Branches

PresentationTo commemorate the RSTA 60th Anniversary the Dublin Branch presented a gift of a bell to all RSTA branches.

Susie Hall, Chairperson of the Dublin Branch, is pictured presenting the bell to outgoing President, Padraic O'Doherty.


 A selection of photos from the Conference and the very enjoyable Oiche Cheoil which preceded the main event is available to view at the link:

Motions Passed at Annual National Conference 2022

 To read the full list of Motions click on the link: Motions_Conference_2022.pdf

Thursday, 26 January 2023 18:23

January '23 Newsletter

ASTI ANNUAL COFFEE MORNING 2023:    9th February 2023 at 11 am.

ASTI General Secretary, Kieran Christie, has issued an invitation to members of the RSTA to the Annual Coffee Morning in ASTI Head Office in Winetavern Street, Dublin.  The system of rotation of branches established in 2020 will continue in order to facilitate a limit of 50 attending.

Branches selected to nominate 3 members each  for 2023 are: Limerick, Mayo, Midland, North East, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow.

Branches have been informed.  Click on the link for full details of the arrangements: ASTI_Coffee_Morning_2023.pdf

The RSTA President and members of the National committee at their recent meeting with ASTI.

Back: Micheal O'Neill, RSTA National Secretary, Pat Younger, National Treasurer, EAmonn Dennehy, ASTI, Padraic O'Doherty, RSTA and Padraic Murphy, ASTI

Front: Kieran Christie, ASTI General Secretary, Susie Hall, RSTA President, Geraldine O'Brien, ASTI President.




















The September 22 eBulletin has been circulated to all members on the RSTA email contact  list.  It contains information on the latest update of the Building Moment Agreement.  The Bulletin can be read/downloaded at the link below:


Friday, 23 September 2022 11:59

September 22 Newsletter

Page 1 of 8